Shire: Alt Urgell
Altitude: 1335 m
Cava is a municipality of Alt Urgell whose Ansovell larger core, yet also includes Querforadat and that gives the name, Cava. It has long been considered the least populated municipality of the region of Alt Urgell.
The municipality includes different landforms, including the Sierra de Cadi dominates, the crest of which acts as the southern boundary of the town, finding its maximum altitude in the mountain of the channel Baridana (2,648 m). Therefore, much of the end of Cava is part of the Natural Park Moixeró.
Located within the county of Cerdanya, Cava castle is documented in 1277. It was destroyed by the miquelets in 1712 and only two fragments of wall, one of which is on the corner. In a patch lower in the south, is the stone called Lord's chair, where tradition says the man stopped the sun in winter. Throughout the centuries, the place of Cava was under the dominion of Pinos, the Santmartí, the Brea and Doria d'Arfa.
The parish of Ansovell (Nonsuelle) is mentioned in the act of consecration of the cathedral of La Seu d'Urgell, datable to the tenth century During the Middle Ages, place Ansovell, along with that of Quer, both within the county of Cerdanya, belonged to Aragall and later to the Castro-Pinos, viscounts also Evol. It later passed to the Dukes of Híxar.
Despite being a city with few people are still celebrated various festivals. For example, Ansovell festival celebrates the second Sunday of November, the Querforadat the penultimate Sunday in August and is also the collection of the Virgin of Boscalt celebrated on September 8 or the first Sunday of the month. There you can enjoy a fantastic view and also visit a unique box-a copy center, perhaps more than 500 years, the young people of the neighboring villages were getting around to finding a partner.
The municipality is ideal for outdoor activities, has a network of 8 historic roads conditioners and designated for hiking and offers visitors exceptional landscape values.