Altitude: 120 m
The small and picturesque urban center of the town of Los Pallaresos is on a hill of 121 m altitude and near the partition of the term with that of La Secuita. It was in the Middle Ages one of the skirts or suburbs of Tarragona.
The architect Josep M. Jujol y Gibert has left a wide sample of his genius; of Jujol are the old schools, the building of the old City Hall and the house of the common (1920), the Andreu House of the Church Square, the fence of Casa Solé (1927), the reform of the house of Emilia Fortuny (1944) and the lateral altars (1945-47) of the parish church of San Salvador; but, without a doubt, the most valuable work is the Casa Bofarull, fantastical in the facades and the details, with a beautiful rear gallery on a parabolic angel that preserves, although damaged, allegorical paintings of the stations made by the same Jujol; The most important element of the house is the interior staircase and the turret that covers it.
The set has an extraordinary spatial richness and is crowned by an angel-lightning rod, which was originally designed so that it could act as a weather vane. The fence that protects the triangular opening of the wall of the garden that gives onto the field is worthy of contemplation: an authentic wonder made with old tools of field work.
The municipality does not have a parish until recent times; in the Middle Ages its church was a perpetual vicarage dependent on the parish of the Tarragona cathedral. In 1751 his rents were incorporated into the diner called San Pablo.
The town has a municipal center for parties and meetings. It also has a municipal office and a post office. In terms of educational facilities, two CEIPs and an IES are operational, and the 2008/09 academic year begins.
Where to sleep
Where to eat
What to do