Guided visit to the Castle of San Esteban
The visits take place at 11 in the morning and you will be able to observe and discover many wonders and secrets.
The conquest of this territory by the counts of Cerdanya was consolidated at the beginning of the 11th century, with the construction of the castle. It sits on an elongated rocky spur, which dominates the crossroads between the Llobregós path and the one that descends from the Cardona area.
The complex is completely surrounded by walls, which adapt to both the elongated profile of the mountain range and its staggering. In the highest part there is a circular tower. In the middle section, there are walls that compartmentalize the surroundings of the access door to the enclosure. Finally, at the lower end is where a series of courtyards and vaulted rooms are best preserved. Among these rooms, a dungeon with sgraffito drawings of castles, knights and assault machines stands out.
The fortress of Castellfollit de Riubregós, around the year 1000, was part of the possessions of the county of Cerdanya, from which it passed by inheritance to the county of Barcelona. Initially the Cervera family were Castilians, but towards the second half of the 13th century it passed into the hands of the Cardona family, who already had most of the surrounding strongholds under their control.
The castle has witnessed several historical episodes, among which the confrontation in 1822 between the absolutists of Castellfollit and the liberals commanded by General Espoz y Mina, who attacked and destroyed the castle, stands out.